Curriculum Overview

Brookfield School believes that every pupil deserves the opportunity to follow a curriculum that is tailored to their individual needs, aspirations and interests. Our curriculum aims to inspire and motivate across a wide continuum of need. Each pupil is assessed upon entry and provided with an appropriate curriculum offer based upon their immediate needs and long term goals.

Whilst most pupils follow a typical high school curriculum, some are more suited to the vocational and practical elements on offer. Our KS4 site in Fleetwood provides excellent alternative options underpinned by a core curriculum of Numeracy, Literacy, Physical Activity and Cultures, Ethics, Morals and Values (CEMV).

Please click here to see a yearly overview for the curriculum offer for KS3 & KS4. At KS4, we provide a curriculum that is tailored to individual pupils linked to career aspirations and interests in order to maximise engagement and outcomes for each individual. Pupils following a bespoke timetable meet core expectations and a specific offer that is progressive, reflective and linked to their EHCP. The pathway and progression plan is agreed by parents and supporting professionals upon entry.


The National Curriculum

The National Curriculum provides pupils with an introduction to the essential knowledge that they need to be educated citizens. It introduces pupils to the best that has been thought and said; and helps engender an appreciation of human creativity and achievement.

Key stage 3 (Yr7,8 & 9)

Compulsory national curriculum subjects are:

  • English
  • maths
  • science
  • history
  • geography
  • modern foreign languages
  • design and technology
  • art and design
  • music
  • physical education
  • citizenship
  • computing


Key stage 4 (Yr10 & Yr11)

During Key Stage 4 most pupils work towards national qualifications – usually GCSE’s.

The compulsory national curriculum subjects are the ‘core’ and ‘foundation’ subjects.

Core subjects are:

  • English
  • maths
  • science

Foundation subjects are:

  • computing
  • physical education
  • citizenship

Schools must also offer at least one subject from each of these areas:

  • arts
  • design and technology
  • humanities
  • modern foreign languages

They must also provide religious education (RE) and sex education at Key Stage 4.

Qualifications offered at Brookfield include but are not limited to:


WJEC GCSE English Language 

WJEC GCSE English Literature 


AQA GCSE Biology 



Entry Levels and Functional Skills

WJEC / OCR Entry Level English 

OCR Functional English L1/2 

AQA Entry Level Maths 

Pearson Functional Maths L1 

AQA Entry Level Science 



Pearson BTEC Science L1/L2 

Pearson BTEC Sport L1 

Pearson BTEC Construction L1 

Pearson BTEC Work Skills L1 

Pearson BTEC Cooking L2 

IMIAL Motor Vehicle Repair L1 

Pearson CAST Employability L1 

OCR Cambridge Nationals Sports Studies L1/2 

PSD (Personal and Social Development)

All pupils at Brookfield take part in compulsory PSD sessions covering  PSHE, Citizenship, RE and British Values.

Click here for the whole school PSD Curriculum Overview.

Click here to download the National Curriculum in full